You are here:  Home  >  2014  >  Current Article

“Chucky ” is the new Calypso Monarch

By   /   March 3, 2014  /   No Comments

Roderick “Chucky” Gordon is the new Calypso Monarch .


He won the title from Kurt Allen at the Dimanche Gras at the Queen’s Park Savannah in Port of Spain, Yesterday.

Singing in position eight, the reigning Independence Calypso Monarch sang   “Wey Yuh Think” and “Wedding Of De Century” .

To the end of his delivery of “Wedding”, which depicts  the marriage between soca and chutney, Drupatee Ramgoonai, Ray Holman and Superblue were introduced  as the iconic representatives of chutney, pan and soca, respectively.

The first, second and third received cash prizes of $1,000,000, $500,000 and $250,000, respectively.

The special highlights  for the evening was  a guest appearance by Dr Slinger Francisco,the Birdie .

The “Birdie” did a medley of past hits “Jean & Dinah”, “The Lizard”, “Melda” and “Drunk and Disorderly”, which were well received .

The  winners were

1. Roderick “Chucky” Gordon – ‘Wey Yuh Think”/”Wedding Of De Century”

2. Kurt Allen – “Sweet Sizzling Summer”/”The Lost Psalm Of King David”

3. Selvon “Mistah Shak” Noel – “Bois”/”Crime Round De Clock”

4. Hollis “Chalkdust” Liverpool – “Ah Miss De Bards”/”De Guest List”

5. Brian London – “The Heart Of A Warrior”/”Call Dem Out”

6. Victoria “Queen Victoria” Cooper – “Political Love Affair”/”Congo Warrior”

7. Alana Sinnette – “Sea Lots”/”And Calling It Rain”

8. Weston “Cro Cro” Rawlins – “Pious, Poor But Proud”/”Goodness Delayed”

9. Carlos “Skatie” James – “Calypso Woman”/”Jack And Jill”

10. Myron “The Incredible Myron B” Bruce – “One More Sip”/”First Black Prime Minister”

11. Eric “Pink Panther” Taylor – “De Richest Man”/”Not Tonight”

12. Roger “Bodyguard” Mohammed – “Aloes Vendor”/”False Papers”

    Print       Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>