You are here:  Home  >  DATED CATEGORIES  >  Current Article

Recipients of National Awards – Trinidad and Tobago 2013

By   /   September 1, 2013  /   No Comments


Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago


  • Order of the Republic of T&T

Chief Justice Ivor Archie (Law)
Cultural Ambassador Makandal Daaga (National Service)
Prof Ramesh Deosaran (Academics and National Service)
Chief Justice Ivor Archie (Law)


  • Chaconia Medal – Gold

Chaconia Medal – Gold

- Law
Appeal Court Judge Wendell Kangaloo (Awarded posthumously)
Retired Justices Shafeyei Shah and Appeal Court judge Margot Warner

- Religion
Pundit Utham Maharaj, Dharmacharya of T&T
Senior Orisha priestess Valerie Stephenson Lee Chee
The Rt Rev Claude Berkley, Bishop of T&T and Head of the Anglican Diocese

- Sport
Jehue Gordon
John Humphrey, former politician and legislator (Public and Community Service)
Pamela Nicholson, retired educator and politician (Public Service)


    • Chaconia Medal – Silver

      Chaconia Medal – Silver

Dr David Garth Toby (medicine)
Rev Cecil Quamina, senior pastor (religion)


  • Humming Bird Medal – Gold

Attorney Ramesh Persad-Maharaj (Law and Religion)

Businessmen George Janoura and Shaheed Mohammed

Journalist Louis B Homer (Awarded posthumously)

Lynette “Granny” Luces, athlete (Sport)
Musicians Shivannand Maharaj and Earl Knight
Theron Boodan
  • Humming Bird Medal – Silver
Businessman Harbance Seejattan
Ramragee Prabhoo, artiste (Culture)
Trade unionist John Jaglal (Labour)
  • Humming Bird Medal – Bronze

Martial arts instructor David Anthony Chin Leung (Sport)

For gallantry:
Police officer Hayden Dale Manwaring (Awarded posthumously)
Labourer Shiv Bansraj
Construction worker Ganesh Bansraj
Painter John Julien
Retired police officer Hubert Peter “Flagman” Diaz (National Service)
Kiwanis Club of St Helena (Community Service)


  • Public Service Medal of Merit – Gold

Attorney at law Deo Bhagowtee
Dr Steve Ravindra Budhooram (Medicine)
Media productions specialist Roy Rique
Retired Permanent Secretary Roopdial Ramnarine
Retired principal Michael Samuel (Education)
Retired Commissioner of Valuations Ronald Heeralal


  • Public Service Medal of Merit – Silver

Retired public servants Sita Dalkan-Pragg and Johnny Ramdular


  • Medal for the Development of Women – Gold

Affieza Ogeer, president of the ASJA Ladies’ Association (Community Service)
Pundit Dr Indrani Rampersad (Religion and Community Service)
Public servant Aileen Clarke (National Service)

    Print       Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>