You are here:  Home  >  News  >  Latest News  >  Current Article

Over $1 million in prize money for science award

By   /   January 15, 2013  /   No Comments

MARCH 13 is the deadline date for persons interested in participating in the Prime Minister’s Awards for Scientific Ingenuity which offered prize money of $1,250,00 million in 2012.

The Award is a biennial competitive scheme to reward the creativity of locals 13 years and older, specifically in the areas of science and technology. The competition targets persons who can invent or design solutions to everyday problems. Entry to the competition is open to individuals and groups.

The competition takes two forms, the Scientific Creative Solutions Competition which targets those who can conceptualize solutions to everyday problems but cannot take their ideas to the prototype stage and the Scientific Innovation and Invention which have a prototype which can be marketed and has commercial potential.

The Awards competitions are being offered through the National Institute of Higher Education, an entity of the Ministry of Food Production. NIHERST will be conducting workshops and road shows nationwide to raise awareness about the competitions and to educate entrants about the guidelines and judging criteria: what is meant by ingenuity, the basics of intellectual property rights, and how to do patent searches, among other things.

A workshop will be held today at the National Science Centre in D’Abadie, another on Wednesday at the Mayaro Resource Centre in Mayaro and on January 18 there will be a workshop at NAPA South. Workshops were held in Tobago on January 11 and in Woodbrook, Port of Spain on January 9.

For further information interested parties can call 758-3777.

    Print       Email
  • Published: 1259 days ago on January 15, 2013
  • By:
  • Last Modified: January 15, 2013 @ 11:53 pm
  • Filed Under: Latest News, Local, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>